Go Away!

The power of words.  It’s something I’ve been very cognizant of this week.  I’m not talking about their definition as much as I am the intention behind the use of them.  There is nothing that can more quickly change ones mood than a word, or two or ten.

I’ve read many posts (and made one myself) about being thankful this week.  It escalates the true meaning of Thanksgiving and makes one stop to take inventory on what is important and a blessing in their lives.  It’s a good time to sit quietly and reflect.   I love hearing what others are thankful for in their lives.

Go away.  Two very little words.  Yet, they carry a big sting.  At least, at first.  I’ve had a couple of days to digest them and to gain perspective on them.  Go away.  I’ve never been told that before.  In the end, I’m glad I was delivered the message.  I was trying to go away but wasn’t being successful.  Hearing the words sealed the deal and let me off the hook.  Powerful little words.

On the flip side, I was told by someone that their love grows for me exponentially every day.  Again, some very powerful words.  Overwhelming words.  Heartwarming words.  Flattering words.  A bit intimidating, if I’m honest.  I know this person means it.  I’m not there yet.  It’s too soon.  It makes me feel badly that I can’t reciprocate those feelings at that level right now.  I have been working hard at taking things at my pace.  So far so good but the power of words linger.

Talk about a dichotomy.   It really makes me look at myself and question who I am.  I wonder, am I presenting myself as two different people to two different people?  I’ve decided the answer is no.  I believe it’s all about perspective and nothing more.  As long as I am true to myself, I can’t control anyone else’s perspective.  So that’s what I’m going to do.  Be true.  To myself.

I hope you are also true to yourself.

Shine On!

Jill

Author: jillymaddy

I'm a 50's something single mom of two special needs kids that I adore to the moon and back. This is my story of our highs and lows.

3 thoughts on “Go Away!”

  1. Hi Jill, just catching up with you. I hope that the person who told you to go away was that friend you were trying to save. The one I said would suck you into her negative life. Anyway – I hope that’s who it was and if so, you are not losing anything. I love your positive spirit. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment